Varna Summer - 2002

La Traviata



The story of the Varna Philharmonic began in 1913 when an amateur symphony orchestra was founded. In 1926 it participated with great success under the direction of Assen Naidenov in the First Summer Music Celebrations in Varna which later grew into the International Music Festival "Varna Summer". 

In 1946 on the initiative of the conductor and violinist Prof. Sasha Popov the Varna State Symphony was founded, which in 1968 became the State Philharmonic. 

During its first years it was led respectively by the conductors Ruslan Raichev, Vassil Stefanov, Yosko Yosifov, Konstantin Iliev. 

The greatest tribute for the professional growth of the orchestra should go to the conductors Emil Glavanakov, Ivan Marinov and Yordan Dafov. Since the beginning of 2000, the Head conductor is Stanislav Oushev.

The orchestra has an extensive repertoire which includes symphonies, cantatas and oratorios by various composers, as well as many works by Bulgarian composers from different generations.

Their performances included many famous musicians - Ifra Nieman, Leonid Kogan, David Eustrah, Alexis Weissenberg, Pablo Kazals, Yuri Bukov, Ruggiero Ricci, Victor Tretyakov, Yanos Starker, Mikhail Pletnyov, Vera Gornostaeva, Mincho Minchev, Vanya Milanova, Georgi Badev and many others. 

Traditionally the orchestra participates in the opening ceremony of the International Music Festival "Varna Summer".

The Symphony Orchestra has participated in all prestigious Bulgarian festivals and has toured Germany, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland, Russia, France, Austria, Spain, Italy, etc. It has made many recordings for the Bulgarian National Radio and the National TV.